Blog

All About Florida Gun Laws

Despite Florida’s known tradition of gun ownership, hunting, sportsmanship, and gun defense, the state’s gun laws are strictly enforced. Yes, the right to bear arms is protected by the state and federal constitutionsfirearms laws are strictly enforced. Furthermore, recent school shootings promulgated the enactment of new gun control measures. While it may be legal to possess and carry a firearm, it is crucial to understand gun violations’ laws and legal consequences as a gun owner. After all, not knowing the law is never a defense, so make sure you are well aware of all of them! Are you familiar with Florida gun laws and how they affect residents of Miami and other South Florida cities? Let’s check all about it!

Florida Open Carry Laws

The state of Florida does not allow the open transport of firearms within its jurisdiction. However, there are some exceptions to this rule. People can carry firearms openly when they are inside their homes or places of business. Those engaged in camping, fishing, hunting, or attending target practice are also exempt during the event and going to and from the activity. Those who manufacture or repair firearms are also exempt from the open transport law, as are military or police officers while employed.

Who Can Own A Gun In Florida?

Gun-control laws don't reduce crime | Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

To legally carry a pistol in the state of Florida in public, the gun must be concealed. Those who wish to carry must first complete a license application with the state Department of Agriculture. Once completed, the license is valid within state jurisdiction and is granted for seven years. After that period, another license must be completed to continue to carry legally. To obtain a permit, a person must meet the following criteria:

  • Be a citizen of the United States;

  • At least 21 years of age;

  • You do not have a mental disability that prevents the safe handling of firearms;

  • Has no convicted criminal record;

  • You have not been convicted of a violent or drug-related crime in the past three years;

  • Has not been convicted of domestic violence;

  • Has not been convicted of public drunkenness, and

  • Should not be under a current restraining order for acts of violence

Because violations of Florida’s gun ownership laws carry severe penalties, including mandatory minimum sentences, jail time, and significant fines, having an experienced gun law attorney is essential.

What Are The New Gun Restrictions In Florida?

The state of Florida does not require a permit for the purchase or possession of a pistol. The only permit required by the state is related to concealed transportation. People can buy handguns, rifles, and shotguns without any license or registration, making it one of the country’s laxest states in terms of firearm legislation. There are certain exceptions to these laws, including:

  • Convicted criminals may not possess or carry concealed weapons;

  • Drug addicts, alcoholics, and the mentally ill are prohibited from using or owning a firearm;

  • Selling a gun to a minor without parental permission is illegal;

  • A minor under 18 years of age cannot possess a firearm unless it is unloaded and in his place of residence.

Other Firearms Violations In Florida

Gun Control: A Point By Point Rebuttal | by Joseph Manero | The Lone Star  Review | Medium

Carrying A Concealed Firearm

In Florida, a concealed weapon permit will only be issued to individuals who are:

  • At least 21 years of age;

  • A U.S. citizen or permanent resident, and

  • Eligible to own a pistol under state and federal laws.

The permit applies to pistols, not rifles and shotguns, and the only reason to carry the weapon must be for self-defense. Additionally, applicants for a permit are required to pay a license fee, submit fingerprints for a background check, and demonstrate the ability to handle a firearm. In short, carrying a concealed firearm without a permit is illegal and is charged with a third-degree felony. This is punishable by up to five years in prison or a $ 5,000 fine, or both. Moreover, carrying a concealed weapon is prohibited in many places and situations, such as schools, bars, public parks, courthouses, public agency meetings, or elsewhere where firearms are not permitted by state or federal law.

Discharging A Firearm In Public

It is illegal to intentionally or recklessly discharge a firearm in any public place, walkway, or path on any public paved road, highway, street, open-air on any property primarily used as a dwelling or any structure with an exclusive zone for residential use. Rapes are a misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail.

The Shots In An Occupied Dwelling

In Florida, it is illegal to unceremoniously:

  • Fire a firearm,

  • Launch a deadly missile, 

  • Throw or project a stone or other hard substance that can cause great bodily harm or death.

These can’t be done within or in any:

  • Public or private, occupied or unoccupied space, or 

  • Any occupied public or private vehicle, including cars, trucks, buses, trains, subways.

Such an illegal shooting is considered a felony of the second degree.

Gun violations are serious business in Florida, and a conviction can lead to incarceration, fines, and loss of your rights as a gun owner and citizen. When seeking a bond on a weapons charge, a qualified bail bond agent can help. Call The Better Jail!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.